Home Page

Glan-yr-AfonPrimary School

Working together to achieve

Meet The Governors

Welcome to the Governors' section!


The Governing Body of Glan-yr-Afon Primary School welcomes you to our website, and hope you find it very informative and inspiring.


As a Governing Body, we assist the Headteacher in strategically leading the school to ensure it provides the very best teaching and learning experiences, the very best curriculum, and the very best care, support and guidance, for every single pupil with us.


At Glan-yr-Afon Primary School, leaders have children’s safety, welfare and learning at the forefront of all decision-making. Each member of staff and each governor is a leader of at least one aspect of the school’s life, working as a strong team to improve and raise standards. Pupil voice, through the School and Eco Councils, and parent consultation through regular meetings, parent-council and surveys, mean that the whole school community is part of the consultation and decision making process.


The Headteacher and her Senior Leadership Team work with all aspects of the school community to identify priorities, plan and action developments for these, and to closely monitor impact and outcomes. The Governing Body monitors school improvement priorities through regular visits to the school for meetings and learning walks; it also spends time on scrutiny of documentation and ensures that a rigorous appraisal procedure of the Headteacher and staff is adhered to. In all, the inclusive ethos of high expectations at Glan-yr-Afon Primary School is key to the successful learning of all our children.


Mr Les Maxim

Chair of the Governing Body


Meet the Governors':

Mr Les Maxim - Chair

Mr Phil Smith - Vice-Chair

Miss Sian Blackmore

Miss Kelly Wall

Miss Sophie Gamlin

Dr Lesley Noaks

Mrs Joan Fudge

Mr Phil Buxton

Mr NIck Webb

Mr Aaron

Miss Lisa Oaten

PC Bethan Jennings

Mrs Mal Letman

Mrs Helen Williams

Miss Joanna Saville